Kafka's Japanese Musicbox

Lyric Translations, Reviews & Recommendations

ステレオポニー – キャンバスに私だけの色をのせて~Canvas ni Watashi Dake no Iro wo Nosete( Applying My Very Own Color to a Canvas)

Leave a comment

Stereopony – Canvas ni Watashi Dake no Iro wo Nosete(Applying My Very Own Color to a Canvas)

Lyrics: SHIHO
Song: AIMI
Translator: Kafka

Someday, Memories will surely fade away
I thought throughout as I paint on a canvas

On my passing yesterdays and the advancing tomorrows
I tightly hold my uneasy chest with my right hand

In my faded everyday life with a black & white scenery
Lies my very own feelings of my painted future
With warm light blue and a small stream of yellow
I want to search little by little a color that I only can see

Applying color to a rough draft of the world
With a glittering shining crayon

Fumbling with the excluded usual place
I honestly applied a color I found a while ago

When the ever-changing color of everyday become this so heart throbbing
I too feel this uneasiness that it’s so exciting
The heartlessness of pink, the orange colored of seasons
There is still the rolling rainbow colored happiness to find

Try raising your face
Painting right before your eyes
Don’t overlook it
That moment

Along that gentle moment
It was a time for tears to pour
Put it in a hourglass
Try comparing it

When the ever-changing color of everyday become this so heart throbbing
I too feel this uneasiness too that it’s so exciting
The smiling violet, The warm greenness
There is still the rolling rainbow colored happiness to find

*quite a hard piece to translate, some parts are hard to understand especially it’s so poetic to understand. SHIHO really did a good job writing this complex and poetic lyrics. She some deep Japanese terms but I somehow understood them to a point. I think based on what I understand on the lyrics, she is trying to convey her feelings when we are uneasy and when our feelings are down. Metaphysically, we are painting our own life, we painted our past, we paint our own future, and right now, we are painting our own present, there are times we have to color in some parts, whether it is black or white, or other colors which is a certain analogy that represents on what really happens in out daily lives.

~kafka

Leave a Reply

